spacer
Applied Learning with the Dept of Transportation

Applied Learning with the Department of Transportation

The NYS Department of Transportation (DoT) and the State University of New York (SUNY) have entered into a partnership to offer SUNY students a unique opportunity to gain valuable professional experience in the Fleet Division of the Department of Transportation.

The New York State Department of Transportation serves to ensure their customers - those who live, work and travel in New York State - have a safe, efficient, balanced and environmentally sound transportation system.  

Students may choose from various regions throughout New York. Unless otherwise indicated, internship assignments are available to both undergraduate and graduate students attending any SUNY institution statewide. All internships are on-site at a DoT location.

Qualifications
Program Term

The DoT/SUNY Student Internship Program follows a semester schedule and is consistent with academic calendars at SUNY Schools. All internships are part-time and students may work a maximum of 20 hours per week during the Fall/Spring semester. Students may work a maximum of 29 hours during the Winter/Summer semester.

Information for Students

Those who earn an applied learning opportunity will earn themselves a salary throughout the term.

Benefits of a DOT Internship

Application Process and Requirements

  1. Review the list of regions and select your top choice(s);
  2. Complete the Student Internship Application. Students must obtain the signature of their DOT Internship Campus Coordinator. Students will not be considered for an assignment without a completed application.
  3. E-mail internship application materials to Regional Manager of your preferred region.

OR:

  1. Print out and mail the Student Internship Application to: DoT Regional Manager of your preferred region. See List of DoT Contacts.

Important: You must include the preferred DoT Region in the subject line of your email to receive consideration. If applying for more than one internship, you must send a separate email and application for each with the appropriate DoT Region indicated in the subject line.

 

Fleet Division Locations

Regional Manager Contacts

Region-1: Richard Martin
Richard.Martin@DOT.NY.GOV
21 9th St., Waterford, NY 12188
(518) 237-5821

Region-2: William LaForce
William.LaForce@DOT.NY.GOV
10 Harbor Lock Rd W., Utica, NY 13502
(315) 733-2967

Region-3: David Sullivan
David.Sullivan@dot.ny.gov
5450 S Bay Rd., North Syracuse, NY 13212
(315) 458-7000

Region-4: Karl Frame
Karl.Frame@dot.ny.gov
2797 Clover St., Pittsford, NY 14534
(585) 586-1252

Region-5: James Heintz (Acting)
James.Heintz@dot.ny.gov
4717 Southwestern Blvd., Hamburg, NY 14075
(716) 649-5568

Region-6: Ron DaBolt (Acting)
Ronald.Dabolt@dot.ny.gov
7000 County Route 70A, Hornell, NY 14843
(607) 324-4230

Region-7: James Sullivan
James.Sullivan@dot.ny.gov
22422 State Route 342, Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 785-2506

Region-8: Kevin Chapman
Kevin.Chapman@DOT.NY.GOV
272 Violet Ave., Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 471-5488

Region-9: Rich Boeltz (Acting)
Richard.Boeltz@dot.ny.gov
241 Colesville Rd., Binghamton, NY 13904
(607) 775-6050

Region-10: Paul Goebeler
Paul.Goebeler@DOT.NY.GOV
375 Carleton Ave., Central Islip, NY 11722
(631) 231-6161

 

Campus Coordinators

Alfred State
Elaine Morsman, Director, Career Development Center
MorsmaEM@alfredstate.edu

SUNY Cobleskill 
Amanda Hantho, Coordinator of Internships and Graduate Pathways
HanthoAE@cobleskill.edu

Columbia-Greene Community College
Kelly Ann Radzik, Director of Applied Learning and Job Development
kellyann.radzik@sunycgcc.edu

Corning Community College
Jennifer Sellers, Applied Learning Coordinator
JSeller2@corning-cc.edu

Erie Community College 
Blythe Kaczmarczyk, Coordinator of Internships
kaczmarczykb@ecc.edu

Farmingdale State College
Rena Varghese, Executive Director, NEXUS Center
vargher@farmingdale.edu

Monroe Community College 
Ray Otto, Recruiter/Coordinator, Automotive Program
rotto3@monroecc.edu

Morrisville State College
Ron Alexander, Automotive Department-Program Coordinator
alexanrf@morrisville.edu

Onondaga Community College
Laura Mokrzycki, Applied Learning Program Coordinator
l.e.mokrzycki@sunyocc.edu

 

Applied Learning