A SUNY Board of Trustees meeting with members seated at tables in April 2021.
Board of Trustees

About the Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the State University of New York. It consists of 18 members, 15 of whom are appointed by the Governor, by and with consent of the New York State Senate. In addition, the president of the Student Assembly serves as student trustee and the presidents of the University Faculty Senate and Faculty Council of Community Colleges serve as ex-officio trustees.


Among the authorities of the Board of Trustees is the power to:

What is SUNY?