spacer
Distinguished Academy logo banner
Distinguished Academy Board

Distinguished Academy Board

Academic Year 2022-23

Dr. Farhad Ameen (2022-2025)

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Dept. of Social Sciences
SUNY Westchester Community College
Phone: 914-606-7860
Email: Farhad.Ameen@sunywcc.edu

Dr. Amit Bandyopadhyay (2021-2024)
Years of service to the Board 2014-Present

Distinguished Service Professor
Dept. of Architecture & Construction Management
Farmingdale State College
Phone: 631-420-2378
Email: bandyoa@farmingdale.edu

Dr. Kestutis (Kestas) Bendinskas (2022-2025)

Distinguished Service Professor
Dept. of Chemistry
SUNY Oswego
Phone: 315-312-2696
Email: kestutis.bendinskas@oswego.edu

Dr. Zu-yan Chen (2020-2023)

Distinguished Teaching Professor of Asian and Asian American Studies
Binghamton University
Phone: 607-777-3056
Email: zychen@binghamton.edu

Dr. Andrew Fitz-Gibbon (2021-2024)

Distinguished Service Professor
Chair, Philosophy Department
Fellow, American Philosophical Practitioners Assoc.
Dept. of Philosophy
SUNY Cortland
Phone: 607-753 2016
Email: Andrew.Fitz-Gibbon@cortland.edu

Dr. Andrea Guiati (2022-2025)

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Dept. of Modern and Classical Languages
Buffalo State College
Phone: 716-878-6220
Email: guiatia@buffalostate.edu

James Hewlett (2021-2024)

Distinguished Service Professor
Dept. of Science and Technology
Finger Lakes Community College
Phone: 585-785-1325
Email: James.Hewlett@flcc.edu

Dr. Joseph C. Hoffman (2022-2025)
Years of service to the Board 2018-Present

Distinguished Teaching Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
SUNY Maritime College
Phone: 718-409-7260
Email: jchoffman@sunymaritime.edu

Dr. Vincent J. Iacono (2021-2024)

Distinguished Service Professor
Tarrson Family Professor of Periodontology and Chair
Director of Postdoctoral Education
Department of Periodontology
Stony Brook University
Phone: 631-632-8895/8971
Email: viacono@SBUMED.ORG

Edward M. Komara (2022-2023)

Distinguished Librarian
Crane School of Music Libraries
SUNY Potsdam
Phone: 315-267-3227
Email: komaraem@potsdam.edu

Dr. Makau Mutua (2022-2023)

Distinguished Professor
Margaret W. Wong Professor
School of Law
University at Buffalo
Phone: 716-645-2311
Email: mutua@buffalo.edu

Dr. Nkiru Nzegwu (2020-2023) - Chair, 2021-present

Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Africana Studies and Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Program
Binghamton University
Phone: 607-777-2635
Email: panap@binghamton.edu

Dr. Miriam Rafailovich (2022-2025)
Years of service to the Board 2019-Present

Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Material Sciences and Engineering
Stony Brook University
Phone: 516-458-9011
Email: Miriam.Rafailovich@stonybrook.edu

Dr. Karolyn Stonefelt (2020-2023)

Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Music
SUNY Fredonia
Phone: 716-673-4645
Email: karolyn.stonefelt@fredonia.edu

Dr. John Tomaszewski (2021-2024)

Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences
University at Buffalo
Phone: 716-829-2846
Email: johntoma@BUFFALO.EDU

Dr. Ann Hawkins, System Administration Liaison to the DA Board
Years of service to the Board 2018-Present

Assistant Provost for Graduate Education & Research
SUNY System Administration
Office of the Provost
Phone: 518-445-4111
Email: distinguishedacademy@suny.edu

Yvette Roberts, System Administration Liaison to the DA Board
Years of service to the Board 2013-Present

Associate for Academic Affairs and Program Manager for Faculty & Staff Awards
SUNY System Administration
Office of the Provost
Phone: 518-320-1449
Email: distinguishedacademy@suny.edu


Note: Years of service are listed for Board members who have served more than one term.

Updated 6/29/2022 and effective 7/1/2022

Distinguished Academy