spacer
Distinguished Academy logo banner
Distinguished Academy Board

Distinguished Academy Board

Academic Year 2021-22

Dr. Seth N. Asumah (2021-2022)
SUNY Distinguished Teaching Professor
Chair, Africana Studies Department
Carnegie-University of Ghana Diaspora Fellow
Political Science Department
SUNY Cortland
Phone: 607-753-2064
Email: Seth.Asumah@cortland.edu

Dr. Amit Bandyopadhyay (2021-2024)
Years of service to the Board 2014-Present

Distinguished Service Professor 
Department of Architecture and Construction Management
Farmingdale State College
Phone: 631-420-2378
Email: bandyoa@farmingdale.edu

 

Dr. Zu-yan Chen (2020-2023)
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department of Asian and Asian American Studies
Binghamton University
Phone: 607-777-3056
Email: zychen@binghamton.edu

Ms. Judith Ellis (2019-2022)
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Toy Design Department
Fashion Institute of Technology
Phone: 212-217-5120
Email: Judith_Ellis@fitnyc.edu

 

Dr. Nancy L. Elwess (2019-2022)
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
SUNY Plattsburgh
Phone: 518-564-5169
Email: Nancy.Elwess@plattsburgh.edu

Dr. Andrew Fitz-Gibbon (2021-2024)
SUNY Distinguished Service Professor
Chair, Philosophy Department
Fellow, American Philosophical Practitioners Association
Philosophy Department
SUNY Cortland
Phone: 607-753 2016
Email: Andrew.Fitz-Gibbon@cortland.edu

 

Dr. Steven J. Fliesler (2020-2023)
Vice Chair

Distinguished Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
University at Buffalo
Phone: 716-862-6538
Email: fliesler@buffalo.edu

Mr. James Hewlett (2021-2024)
Distinguished Service Professor
Department of Science and Technology
Finger Lakes Community College
Phone: 585-785-1325
Email: James.Hewlett@flcc.edu

 

Dr. Joseph C. Hoffman (2019-2022)
Years of service to the Board 2018-Present
Distinguished Teaching Professor
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
SUNY Maritime College
Phone: 718-409-7260
Email: jchoffman@sunymaritime.edu

Dr. Vincent J. Iacono (2021-2024)
Distinguished Service Professor
Department of Periodontology
Stony Brook University
Phone: 631-632-8895/8971
Email: viacono@SBUMED.ORG

 

Ms. Rebecca Mugridge (2020-2023)
Secretary/Treasurer
Distinguished Librarian
University Libraries
University at Albany
Phone: 518-442-3568
Email: rmugridge@albany.edu

Dr. Nkiru Nzegwu (2020-2023)
Chair
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Africana Studies and Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Program 
Binghamton University
Phone: 607-777-2635
Email: panap@binghamton.edu

 

Dr. Miriam Rafailovich (2019-2022)
Distinguished Professor
Department of Material Sciences and Engineering
Stony Brook University
Phone: 516-458-9011
Email: Miriam.Rafailovich@stonybrook.edu

Dr. John Tomaszewski (2021-2024)
Distinguished Professor
Dept. of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences
University at Buffalo
Phone: 716-829-2846
Email: johntoma@buffalo.edu

 

Dr. Karolyn Stonefelt (2020-2023)
Distinguished Professor
Department of Music
SUNY Fredonia
Phone: 716-673-4645
Email: karolyn.stonefelt@fredonia.edu

 

Dr. Ann Hawkins, System Administration Liaison to the DA Board
Years of service to the Board 2018-Present
Assistant Provost for Graduate Education and Research
Office of the Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor
SUNY System Administration
Phone: 518-445-4111
Email: distinguishedacademy@suny.edu

Ms. Yvette Roberts, System Administration Liaison to the DA Board
Years of service to the Board 2013-Present
Special Assistant to the Vice Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Program Manager for Faculty and Staff Awards
Office of the Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor
SUNY System Administration
Phone: 518-320-1449
Email: distinguishedacademy@suny.edu


Note: Years of service are listed for Board members who have served more than one term.

Updated 9-23-21

Distinguished Academy