SUNY students performing dance, classical music, and painting
Thayer Awards

Thayer Fellowship and the Patricia Kerr Ross Award

Learn more:

Thayer Fellowship / Patricia Kerr Ross Award 2024 booklet

Apply for the 2024 Thayer Fellowship and Patricia Kerr Ross Award

The Thayer Fellowship and the Patricia Kerr Ross Award are given each year to outstanding candidates for graduation from The State University of New York, funded through endowments established in honor of Jeanne C. Thayer, Trustee of SUNY from 1974-1984, and Patricia Kerr Ross, former Artistic Director of the Thayer Fellowship. The Ross Award is administered by the New York Foundation for the Arts.

The purpose of these awards is to serve as a bridge between study at The State University of New York and first-time entry into a professional career in the creative or performing arts: namely music, theatre, dance, film and video, creative writing, and the visual arts.

Two Thayer Fellowships of $7,000 each may be given to one individual or divided among two outstanding candidates. The Fellowship selection is based on talent, achievement, and potential as a professional artist. The Ross Award of $1,000 is given annually to an individual or divided among two exceptional applicants. The basis for this award is excellence, originality, and promise. The awards are available to seniors and graduate students in the arts who are about to graduate from the University and make a career in the arts. They are not intended for students going on to graduate school.