Chairman McCall, Chancellor Zimpher Announce SUNYCON Fellows Class of 2016

October 24, 2016

Selected Students To Participate in SUNYCON Discussions, Bring Ideas Back To College Campuses

New York City – State University of New York Board of Trustees Chairman H. Carl McCall and Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher today announced the SUNYCON Fellows Class of 2016. The select group of students from throughout the university system will participate in exclusive events during this week’s sixth annual conference, and share what they learn about the theme, The Forces Shaping the Future of Higher Education, with students and faculty at their home campuses.

"If we had to narrow the forces shaping the future of higher education down to just one, it would be students," said Chairman McCall. "We are delighted to once again provide exclusive SUNYCON access to student fellows, as their insight and perspective are critical to our discussions. Congratulations to this year’s class."

"SUNY students have shown us time and again that they deserve a place at the table, and SUNYCON would not be complete without their active participation," said Chancellor Zimpher. "Each year, the discussions we have with students are among the most valuable to our work. I look forward to exploring this year’s theme with the SUNYCON Fellows Class of 2016."

SUNY students were chosen for their interest in innovation in higher education. This year’s fellows are:

  • Hannah Vuozzo, Alfred State
  • Tom Mastro, Binghamton University
  • Steven Brewer, Cayuga Community College
  • Justine Finch-Beringer, Stony Brook University
  • Gregory Woody, Stony Brook University
  • Stanley De La Cruz, University at Albany
  • Jarius Jemmott, University at Albany
  • Reynaldo Muniz, University at Albany
  • Sarah Petrak, University at Albany
  • Samantha Lee, Broome Community College
  • Michael Braun, Cortland
  • Burgandi Rakoska, Fredonia
  • Evan Rufrano, Old Westbury
  • Umme Zuhair, Rockland Community College
  • Kaylee Mendez, Suffolk Community College
  • Audrey Pottinger, Ulster Community College
  • Megan Lloyd, Upstate Medical University
  • Nicole Pereira, Oneonta

SUNYCON 2016, which will be held Thursday and Friday in New York City, is OPEN PRESS. Media planning to attend should contact to register for credentials.


SUNY developed SUNYCON, its Critical Issues in Higher Education conference series, to create a dynamic forum for conversations about the status and future of higher education among society’s stakeholders—scholars, academic leaders, business and industry, and policy makers. As the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, SUNY takes seriously its role in facilitating the idea exploration that empowers colleges and universities to master the social challenges of the 21st century. Since 2011, SUNY has convened the annual conference around a topic of pressing urgency in higher education, drawing hundreds of experts and participants.

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY’s 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the country’s oldest school of maritime, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.4 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2023, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunities, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications