Statement by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher on U.S. Supreme Court Ruling

June 23, 2016

"As public universities, we have a responsibility to our students to ensure that the demographics on our campuses and in our classrooms mirror that of the society in which they live and the workforce they will become a part of. This is the very reason SUNY recently put in place a sweeping new diversity policy that we believe will help us become the most inclusive system of higher education in the country.

"While not often the deciding factors, race and ethnicity are some of the many considerations taken into account as colleges and universities decide whether a student should be enrolled. Today's Supreme Court decision upholding this practice at the University of Texas at Austin affirms diversity and inclusion as a meaningful, worthwhile, and absolutely necessary priority in public higher education."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, with 64 college and university campuses located within 30 miles of every home, school and business in the state. In 2015–16, SUNY served nearly 1.3 million students, including nearly 600,000 in credit-bearing courses and programs and more than 700,000 through continuing education and community outreach programs. SUNY students and faculty across the state make significant contributions to research and discovery, resulting in nearly $1 billion of externally sponsored activity each year. There are 3 million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications