Statement from Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher on SUNY New Paltz Receiving the 2015 Andrew Heiskell Award for Innovation in International Education

January 26, 2015

“Congratulations to President Don Christian, Dean Bruce Sillner, Study Abroad Director Christian Wilwohl, and the entire SUNY New Paltz campus on earning this prestigious award from the Institute of International Education (IIE) in recognition of the exceptional and wide-ranging study abroad programs offered to educational opportunity students.

“Study abroad is an important tool for colleges and universities as we seek to provide a higher education experience that prepares students for success in a global economy, and SUNY is proud to operate the largest comprehensive study abroad consortium in the country, offering students from all campuses access to more than 600 program options that reach every continent.

“SUNY New Paltz serves as an excellent model as we continue to work with IIE to expand the number of SUNY students participating in study abroad by 25 percent. Increasing the rate of participation by under-represented students will be essential to meeting this goal.”

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, with 64 college and university campuses located within 30 miles of every home, school, and business in the state. As of Fall 2018, more than 424,000 students were enrolled in a degree program at a SUNY campus. In total, SUNY served 1.4 million students in credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs in the 2017-18 academic year. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Its students and faculty make significant contributions to research and discovery, contributing to a $1.6 billion research portfolio. There are 3 million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications