SUNY Board Chairman Tisch, the Board of Trustees, and Chancellor Malatras Statement on The Arnold P. Gold Foundation Recognition of SUNY Downstate Health and Sciences University President Riley

June 10, 2021

"At SUNY we pride ourselves on the caliber of outstanding leaders, doctors, and faculty who come to our campuses with the same goal of providing a stellar education and service to our communities. Tonight, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation recognizes SUNY Downstate President Dr. Wayne J. Riley, alongside Dr. Anthony Fauci and Dr. Eric Topol as this year’s National Humanism in Medicine Medal recipients. This is a momentous honor for Dr. Riley who is a mentor across SUNY on issues of public health and higher education. We value his leadership, his expertise, and his kindness for the patients of Brooklyn—his professionalism and his service to others is an inspiration for our students and to us all."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY’s 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. As of Fall 2019, more than 415,500 students were enrolled in a degree-granting program at a SUNY campus. In total, SUNY serves about 1.3 million students in credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide exceeded $1.7 billion in fiscal year 2019, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications