Chancellor Malatras Issues Statement on Six Additional Campuses Serving as State-Run Vaccination Sites

March 8, 2021

Photos of Today's Tour of the Herkimer County Community College Vaccination Site

"As the state receives more vaccines, SUNY is proud to open six additional campuses to serve as vaccination sites for eligible New Yorkers. Our institutions are playing an increasingly pivotal role in getting shots in arms—administering nearly 440,000 vaccines to date. These sites—like the one I visited today at Herkimer County Community College—are efficient and well-run. Understanding the technological barriers that can exist within the appointment-making process, today we also opened four of our Educational Opportunity Centers to assist people who may be struggling to schedule a shot. It’s proof that SUNY is agile, adaptable, and ready to meet the needs of every New Yorker during this crucial time."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY's 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.3 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2021, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications