Chancellor Malatras Statement on Jamestown Community College Serving as a Vaccination Center for Cattaraugus County

January 6, 2021

"As New York State builds up capacity to distribute vaccinations across our state, SUNY colleges and universities are stepping up in major ways. I want to thank Jamestown Community College for making their Olean campus available to Cattaraugus County and Department of Health to administer vaccines as we continue the fight against COVID-19. We’re all in this together and SUNY institutions will help continue to lead the way."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York, which celebrates its 75th anniversary this year, is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY’s 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the country’s oldest school of maritime, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.4 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2022, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunities, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications