Chancellor Malatras Statement on Fulton-Montgomery and Herkimer Community Colleges Serving as a Vaccination Centers for Their Counties

January 21, 2021

"At SUNY, our highest priority is the health and wellness of our students as we provide them with a safe academic environment, and that commitment extends into our nearby communities—even more so now during the pandemic. More than half of SUNY campuses are offering space for vaccinations, and Fulton-Montgomery Community College and Herkimer Community College join that long list as they open their doors so local public health officials can begin giving shots to eligible New Yorkers. My thanks to Acting President Truckenmiller and President McColgin and their respective leadership teams for stepping up to help time and time again. Together, we can beat this virus."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY's 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.3 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2021, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications