Chancellor Johnson Honors 332 SUNY Faculty and Staff with the 2017-2018 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence

June 20, 2018

Albany – State University of New York Chancellor Kristina M. Johnson has announced the names of 332 faculty and staff from across the university system as recipients of the 2017-18 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence.

"Excellence is SUNY's hallmark. At each of our campuses it is driven by our faculty and staff and their commitment to providing the highest quality environment, where students are inspired and supported to excel as they pursue their passions," said Chancellor Johnson. "I congratulate this year’s recipients, and thank them for their contributions."

A complete list of this year’s honorees is available: Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence 2017-2018.

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, with 64 college and university campuses located within 30 miles of every home, school, and business in the state. As of Fall 2017, more than 430,000 students were enrolled in a degree program at a SUNY campus. In total, SUNY served nearly 1.4 million students in credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs in the 2016-17 academic year. SUNY students and faculty across the state make significant contributions to research and discovery, resulting in $1 billion of externally sponsored activity each year. There are 3 million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications