X

Institute for Local News at SUNY

SUNY Institute for Local News logo

Student-Powered Local News


The Institute for Local News at SUNY engages students in university-led reporting programs with local media partners to bolster local news coverage while giving students real-world learning experiences in multi-media story-telling and communications.

Campus Program Spotlights

SUNY Faculty Cohort Call

SUNY Faculty Cohort Calls occur every second Friday of the month at 12:00pm.

Register Here

Upcoming dates:

  • March 8, 12;00
  • April 12, 12:00
  • May 10, 12:00

Faculty Advisory Committee

Marsha Ducey, Brockport  |  mducey@brockport.edu
George Giokas, Stony Brook  |  george.giokas@stonybrook.edu
Annemarie Franczyk, Buffalo State |  francza@buffalostate.edu
Andrew Bottomley, Oneonta  |  Andrew.Bottomley@oneonta.edu
Caroline Kaltefleiter, Cortland  |  Caroline.Kaltefleiter@cortland.edu
Eileen Gilligan, Oswego  |  eileen.gilligan@oswego.edu
James Gormley, New Paltz  |  gormleyj@newpaltz.edu
Jamie Barber, University of Buffalo  |  jkbarber@buffalo.edu
Christopher Keaty, Broome Community College  |  keatycr@sunybroome.edu
Elmer Ploetz, Fredonia  |  Elmer.Ploetz@fredonia.edu
Nancy Roberts, University at Albany  |  nroberts@albany.edu

Contact Us

If you represent a campus program or newsroom and you’d like to learn more about the Institute for Local News, please fill out this short interest form or contact Interim Coordinator Richard Watts or Lane Filler, Chief Communications Officer, SUNY.

How Can We Help?
Richard Watts headshot

Richard Watts
Interim Coordinator
Director, National Center for Community News 
watts@gmavt.net
802-373-1131