Statement by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher on NYSUNY 2020 Grants

September 30, 2015

“Congratulations to SUNY Morrisville as well as Onondaga Community College, SUNY Environmental Science and Forestry, SUNY Oswego, and Upstate Medical University on receiving support through the fourth round of Governor Cuomo’s NYSUNY 2020 Challenge Grant program.

“These two projects involving our colleges and universities in Central New York will help prepare SUNY students for a higher degree of success in the areas of renewable energy, bioinformatics, medicine, advanced manufacturing, and the culinary arts.

“NYSUNY 2020 is high-impact, ground-breaking legislation that continues to support innovation, learning, and workforce training for our students while further strengthening SUNY’s capacity to drive economic development in communities throughout New York State.” 

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York, which celebrates its 75th anniversary this year, is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY’s 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the country’s oldest school of maritime, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.4 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2022, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunities, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications