SUNY to Observe National Moment of Silence Honoring Umpqua Community College Victims

October 8, 2015

Albany – State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher announced that System Administration and each of SUNY’s 64 campuses will observe a National Moment of Silence at 2 p.m. today honoring the victims of last week’s shooting at Umpqua Community College in Oregon.

"College campuses are meant to provide students, faculty, and staff with a safe haven where they can teach, learn, and grow. It is unbearably saddening when a peaceful campus community like Umpqua Community College is disrupted by violence," said Chancellor Zimpher. "As those affected by this devastating tragedy continue to heal, the entire State University of New York family will keep them in our thoughts."

Students, faculty, and staff across the university system are encouraged to show their support on social media using the hashtag #IamUCC.

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, with 64 college and university campuses located within 30 miles of every home, school, and business in the state. As of Fall 2017, more than 430,000 students were enrolled in a degree program at a SUNY campus. In total, SUNY served nearly 1.4 million students in credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs in the 2016-17 academic year. SUNY students and faculty across the state make significant contributions to research and discovery, resulting in $1 billion of externally sponsored activity each year. There are 3 million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications