SUNY to Observe National Moment of Silence Honoring Umpqua Community College Victims

October 8, 2015

Albany – State University of New York Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher announced that System Administration and each of SUNY’s 64 campuses will observe a National Moment of Silence at 2 p.m. today honoring the victims of last week’s shooting at Umpqua Community College in Oregon.

"College campuses are meant to provide students, faculty, and staff with a safe haven where they can teach, learn, and grow. It is unbearably saddening when a peaceful campus community like Umpqua Community College is disrupted by violence," said Chancellor Zimpher. "As those affected by this devastating tragedy continue to heal, the entire State University of New York family will keep them in our thoughts."

Students, faculty, and staff across the university system are encouraged to show their support on social media using the hashtag #IamUCC.

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, and more than 95 percent of all New Yorkers live within 30 miles of any one of SUNY’s 64 colleges and universities. Across the system, SUNY has four academic health centers, five hospitals, four medical schools, two dental schools, a law school, the country’s oldest school of maritime, the state’s only college of optometry, and manages one US Department of Energy National Laboratory. In total, SUNY serves about 1.4 million students amongst its entire portfolio of credit- and non-credit-bearing courses and programs, continuing education, and community outreach programs. SUNY oversees nearly a quarter of academic research in New York. Research expenditures system-wide are nearly $1.1 billion in fiscal year 2023, including significant contributions from students and faculty. There are more than three million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunities, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications