July 14, 2011

Legislative Update - July 14, 2011

2011 Legislative Summary

Summary of legislation approved by both the Senate and Assembly during the 2011 session impacting SUNY and higher education.  This summary will be updated as final action is taken by the Governor.    

Deputy Commissioner for the Office of Higher Education (OHE)

John D’Agati was recently appointed by NYS Board of Regents to the position of Deputy Committee for the Office of Higher Education.  John was the former director of the NYS Senate committee on higher education under the Chairmanship of Senator Ken LaValle and was more recently the Director of Government Relations at Empire State College.  John’s appointment is effective July 18, 2011.

NY SUNY 2020 Voting Record

While the final tally in the Senate and Assembly for NY SUNY 2020 was overwhelming – Assembly 113 Yes, 21 No; Senate 51 Yes, 11 No – the following legislators were recorded as voting NO:  Assembly - Barron – (D) Kings, Cahill – (D) Ulster, Colton – (D) Kings, Crespo – (D) Bronx, Curran – (R) Nassau,  Friend – (R) Chemung, Gibson – (D) Bronx, Gottfried – (D) New York, Hanna – (R) Monroe, Jeffries – (D) Kings, Jordan – (R) Washington, Lifton – (D) Tompkins, Lopez, P – (R) Schoharie, McLaughlin – (R) Columbia, Meng – (D) Queens, Miller, D - (R) Onondaga, Palmesano – (R) Corning, , Raia – (R) Suffolk, Spano – (D) Westchester, Tenney – (R) Oneida, Thiele – (I) Suffolk.  Senate - Adams – (D) Kings,  Avella – (D) Queens, Diaz – (D) Bronx, Espaillat – (D) Bronx, Huntley – (D) Queens,  Parker – (D) Kings, Peralta – (D) Queens, Perkins – (D) New York, Rivera – (D) Bronx, Serrano – (D) Bronx, Smith – (D) Queens.

NY SUNY 2020 Senate Debate

The following links provide selected remarks during the Senate debate on NY SUNY 2020:

Special Elections

Governor Cuomo recently announced the special elections for six vacant Assembly seats and the 9th Congressional District for September 13th in order to coincide with New York’s statewide Primary Day.

Government Relations