SUNY PP Home Page   Print Page   Close Page   Convert current file into a PDF document   Convert current file into a DOC document

State University of New York Student Loan Service Center Description

The State University of New York (SUNY) Student Loan Service Center (SLSC) was established in 1962 for the purpose of consolidating the fiscal accountability and administrative responsibility for servicing and collecting the Federal campus-based student loan programs for the 29 SUNY State-operated Campuses. The campus-based loan programs operate on a revolving basis. All loan funds collected are returned to the campus from which the loan was awarded to assist current students in meeting their educational expenses.

The SLSC Web site provides access to benefit application forms, links to federal regulations and financial aid sites, direct access to account information and much more.

The student loan programs that are administered by the SLSC are the Federal Perkins, Nursing, Health Professions, Loans for Disadvantaged Students, and Primary Care programs. The terms and benefits of these loan programs are explained in the SLSC’s Guides for Student Borrowers.

In addition to the student loan programs serviced, the SLSC also has primary responsibility for reporting the Federal Pell Grant information to the Department of Education for each Pell recipient at the SUNY state campuses. The SLSC works with each campus to receive and report electronic award and disbursement information and to assist campuses with the correction and resubmission of any errors that occur with regard to this data. Specific regulatory information regarding the Pell Grant Program can also be accessed via the SLSC Web site.