SUNY PP Home Page   Print Page   Close Page   Convert current file into a PDF document   Convert current file into a DOC document


The materials below consist of regulations of the State University of New York Board of Trustees. However, it is not the Official Compilation of the Codes, Rules, and Regulations of the State of New York. Readers are advised to refer to the Official Compilation ( 8 NYCRR Part et seq )in case of questions.

PART 581

STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE AT OLD WESTBURY

Sec

 

581.1

Introduction

581.2

Procedures

581.3

Special regulations

581.4

Enforcement and control

581.5

General

§ 581.1 Introduction.

(a) General. The following regulations are promulgated pursuant to the State University trustees' resolution 72-186, adopted August 17, 1972. The State University of New York College at Old Westbury provides facilities for vehicles for the sole purpose of conducting college business. The method of registering vehicles and the regulations governing their use on campus are stated below. The college assumes no liability for damage or loss to private vehicles, their occupants or contents while on college property. Parking and use of vehicles on campus without registration or permission from the college or in violation of this Part is prohibited. Drivers who require vehicles on campus in order to conduct business related to the college may obtain temporary or yearly permits enabling them to drive or park on campus, at the safety and security office (Building 11, suite 1A). Temporary permits are governed by the regulations stated on the permits as well as those stated below.

(b) Administration.

(c) Veterans. Any veteran, as defined in section 360 of the New York State Education Law, in attendance as a student at the State University College at Old Westbury shall be exempt from registration and parking fees upon submission by the veteran of a written request for exemption together with written certification by the veteran that such veteran was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from such service.

§ 581.2 Procedures.

(a) (1) Who may register. Any person associated with the college who operates a motor vehicle on university property must register that vehicle with the local college as required by the university. Vehicle registration entitles a person to drive on campus and to park in designated parking lots only. Each vehicle must be registered by the beginning of each academic year. Vehicles may be registered at the safety and security office, ordinarily between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday (except on holidays). There will be a charge of $10 per year for the first vehicle registered with the department. Additional vehicles may be added at a cost of $5 per vehicle. Vehicles without the appropriate sticker that are subject to ticketing for violations of the college's parking rules will be subject to immediate towing from the campus at the owner's expense.

(b) Parking.

§ 581.3 Special regulations.

(a) Restricted areas.

(b) Special vehicles.

(5) Construction vehicles.

(c) Special operations.

§ 581.4 Enforcement and control.

(a) General. Parking on the campus is controlled by this Part, provisions of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, and orders of the Department of Transportation. No part of the campus motor vehicle regulations may be abrogated or mitigated by any official of the college without appropriate clearance through the committee on parking policy. The CPP may make recommendations to the president and such changes and amendments may be made by the college council with the approval of the trustees. Statements by college employees, if made in error, regarding the suitability of parking in a certain area will not relieve the driver of responsibility. Similar strictures apply to notes left on windshields or inside the car. If extraordinary emergency circumstances arise the driver is advised to call the safety and security office, identify himself and his car and ask for assistance.

(2) Schedule of penalties.

      Violation

      Penalty

      Parking within 15 feet of a fire hydrant or a standpipe connection

      $35

      Parking in fire zone or fire lane

      $35

      Parking in a No Parking Zone

      $15

      No campus parking permit displayed

      $15

      Parking out of stall

      $15

      Parking in a Handicapped Area

      $35

      Expired parking meter

      $15

      All other campus motor vehicle regulations

      $15

      For second offense of same violation, add $10 to

 

      the base fine; for the third and subsequent offenses, add $20 to the base fine.

 

(b) Enforcement activities.

(1) Ticketing.

§ 581.5 General.

(a) Safety and security office personnel are available to answer questions about this Part, about procedures under them, or about particular problems (e.g., disabled cars, borrowed cars, temporary permits, special loading problems). Call or visit the security office for assistance in any of these matters. The telephone number of the safety and security office is 876-3333 or 876-3334. The safety and security office is located in Building 12, Suite 2A.

(b) A copy of this Part is given to each person who registers a vehicle with the college. The college presumes that all persons have read these and no plea of ignorance will be entertained. Additional or replaced copies are available at the safety and security office.