The materials below consist of regulations of the State University of New York Board
of Trustees. However, it is not the Official Compilation of the Codes, Rules, and
Regulations of the State of New York. Readers are advised to refer to the Official
Compilation ( 8 NYCRR Part et seq )in case of questions.
STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE AT PLATTSBURGH
565.4 Parking areas
565.7 Penalties and procedures; violations of campus traffic and parking regulations
§ 565.1 Preamble.
This Part governs vehicular and pedestrian traffic and parking upon the highways,
streets, roads and sidewalks owned, controlled or maintained by the State University
of New York College at Plattsburgh, New York, and shall apply to students, faculty,
staff, and visitors and all other persons upon such premises. Faculty includes those
persons listed or eligible for listing in the official faculty directory and visiting
faculty as designated by the president of the college. Staff includes those persons
listed or eligible for listing in the official staff directory. A visitor is other
than faculty, staff or student.
§ 565.2 General.
The Vehicle and Traffic Law of the State of New York is applicable and enforceable
on property maintained by the State University of New York, College at Plattsburgh.
All drivers are expected to comply with all campus traffic and parking regulations
and traffic ordinances of the City of Plattsburgh.
A complaint regarding any violation of the Vehicle and Traffic Law, or the campus
traffic and parking regulations, shall be processed in accordance with the requirements
of the applicable law.
All regulations pertaining to motor vehicle registration and operation are enforceable
24 hours a day throughout the entire year, except as otherwise prescribed by the University
Parking is prohibited in those areas designated by posted signs.
§ 565.3 Registration.
Parking fees, as approved by the chancellor, or designee, shall be charged for vehicles
parked on campus in accordance with the guidelines of collective bargaining agreements.
Vehicle Parking Registration. All motorized vehicles parked on campus must
be registered with the University Police at a campus parking registration fee approved
by the chancellor or designee.
Any campus member who is a veteran with an honorable discharge from active military
service, parking a registered vehicle on campus, shall present a DD-214 to University
Police for waiver of the parking fees.
Reserved Parking Registration. Any campus member authorized to park a registered
vehicle in a reserved parking space on campus is required to pre-register the vehicle
with the University Police Parking Manager through their applicable supervisor or
director. These reserved parking areas include, but are not limited to, “Service
Vehicles Only” and “Reserved for Resident Director.”
Any non-campus employee working on campus in either a temporary or permanent capacity
is required to pre-register any vehicle parked on campus with the University Police
Parking Manager, through their designated supervisor, within 48 hours of starting
Parking for Disabled Individuals. Any disabled individual possessing a valid
parking permit is required to register the vehicle with the University Police for
parking in any “Handicapped” parking area, or in the event no handicapped
parking is available, in any regular parking space that is a legal parking space.
Any volunteer authorized to park a vehicle in designated parking areas on campus
while in a volunteer capacity is required to pre-register the vehicle with the University
Police Parking Manager, through the designated supervisor, within 48 hours of starting
volunteer work. This includes any docent, authorized to park a vehicle in a
“Reserved for Docent” parking space.
Any visitor parking a vehicle on campus while visiting a campus member is required
to register the vehicle with the University Police, or designee, and obtain an applicable
pass or permit.
Any Emeritus or Alumnus utilizing one or more campus facilities on a routine basis
shall register a vehicle for parking on campus at a fee approved by the chancellor
Any service or supply vendor who is conducting business on campus is required
to register the vehicle for parking on campus with the University Police at a vendor
registration fee approved by the chancellor or designee.
Parking Registration for Construction Contractors or Subcontractors.
Any construction contractor or subcontractor who is conducting business on campus
is required to register all vehicles for parking on campus through Facilities at a
contractor registration fee approved by the chancellor or designee, and abide by all
campus parking regulations for designated parking as stated in the terms and conditions
of the contract agreement.
Any other contractor or subcontractor who is working on campus for any department
other than Facilities shall register their vehicle with the University Police Parking
Parking Registration for Events.
Visitor parking for invited guests to campus events, between Monday-Friday,
8a-5p, requires event registration by the department chair, a minimum of 30 days prior
to the event, whenever possible.
Visitor parking for large public campus events requires the coordination of
event planning through the Chief of University Police, or designee.
Issuance of Parking Permits. Official campus parking permits for faculty,
staff, and students, will be issued through the University Police for the current
academic year or summer session. Official campus parking decals will be issued through
the University Police for all motorcycles and motor scooters parked on campus.
Distribution of parking permits to campus registrants will be in accordance with
the instructions set forth by the University Police Parking Office.
Students, including full-time and part-time students, shall pick up pre-registered
parking permits from the University Police within 48 hours from the start of classes.
Parking permits for all faculty and staff members who have pre-registered for
parking will be interoffice mailed to their official campus address before October1st.
New hires shall pick up parking permits from the University Police after completing
the vehicle registration requirements.
Parking permits for non-campus employees will be interoffice mailed to the designated
supervisor for disbursement to within 48 hours from registration date.
Display of Permits. Permits must be prominently displayed by all registrants
within the applicable campus guidelines.
Lost or stolen Permits. A replacement permit will only be issued whereupon
the original permit is reported as lost or stolen to the University Police, and proof
of the replacement fee has been paid to Student Accounts, Kehoe 101.
Any change of vehicle license or registration shall be reported to the University
Police, within 48 hours of the change. This includes the cancellation of a parking
permit within the academic year as a result of termination of employment or student
withdrawal from school.
No parking permit – permanent or temporary – is transferrable.
All permits are the responsibility of the registrant for the term of the permit, unless
returned to University Police.
§ 565.4 Parking areas.
All authorized vehicles parked on campus are restricted to parking in designated
areas and on established campus roadways (authorized service vehicles are exempt)
only. No vehicle shall be parked in such manner as to interfere with the use
of a fire hydrant, fire lane other emergency zone, or in areas with posted signs.
Restricted Parking Areas.
All parking lots are restricted to authorized permit holders as designated on
the lot entrance sign, or unless otherwise authorized by the Chief of University Police.
Emergencies, such as snow conditions, may result in the closing of any lot at any
Any lot designated as “No Overnight Parking” must be vacated by 12
All vehicles must be parked between defined lines of valid parking spaces.
Visitor Parking Areas. All visitors are restricted to parking in designated
parking areas as outlined on the visitor pass. Visitors of faculty and staff
will be authorized to park in lots designated for faculty/staff; visitors of students
will be authorized to park in lots designated as student lots. Open parking
lots at the Field House are accessible to visitors without a permit during restricted
Reserved Parking Areas.
Handicapped Parking Areas. Only a disabled individual who possesses a permanent
handicapped license plate; a valid handicapped permit by municipalities in accordance
with the Vehicle and Traffic law; or temporary handicapped permit issued by the University
Police Parking Manager, may park in spaces designated “Reserved for Handicapped.”
A temporary handicapped permit may only be issued upon receipt of a written physician’s
statement within the term of the disability specified.
Service Vehicle Parking Areas. Only a vehicle displaying a valid service vehicle
permit shall park in spaces designated for service vehicles. .
Other Reserved Parking Areas. Only vehicles authorized to park in designated
“reserved” parking spaces are allowed to park in said reserved spaces,
including, but not limited to, docent, police, physician, clinic, patient, etc.
§ 565.5 Accidents.
All motor vehicle accidents on campus which cause personal and/or property damage,
regardless how slight, must be reported to the University Police for necessary action.
§ 565.6 Towing.
The University reserves the authority to immobilize, or remove from campus by towing,
any vehicle which is not registered as required, or which is parked in violation of
campus parking regulations, whether in operating condition or not.
Any vehicle towed from the premises will be ticketed for the applicable violation.
The vehicle owner or registrant, whichever is applicable, will be responsible for
all applicable fines and towing charges by the private tow company.
§ 565.7 Penalties and procedures; violations of campus traffic and parking
Uniform traffic violations are mandated by the State of New York within a court
of competent jurisdiction as directed in the summons.
Any violation of a campus traffic or parking regulation shall be in writing, reciting
the time and place of the violation and title, number or substance of the applicable
Any parking violation charged to a permit number is the responsibility of the campus
registrant to whom the permit was issued, regardless of vehicle ownership. Any
parking violation charged to a vehicle without a permit will be charged to the campus
member who is associated with the vehicle owner, or vehicle owner, if there is no
With the accumulation of 5 or more violations in an academic year, a vehicle parked
in violation of the campus regulations may be towed without warning, even if all fines
have been paid; or in the event of 10 or more violations, the revocation of all campus
parking privileges for the balance of the academic year.
Penalties and fees assessed:
NO PERMIT VISIBLE: Individual has failed to properly display a valid parking
permit while parking a vehicle – registered or unregistered - on campus -- $25
EXPIRED PERMIT: Registrant has failed to renew parking permit before the current
permit term has ended -- $25 per violation.
UNAUTHORIZED PERMIT: Unauthorized use of a parking permit on a vehicle parked
on campus -- $25 per violation and the potential for disciplinary action.
VIOLATION OF DEFINED LINES: Parking in a manner that renders an adjoining parking
space unusable, or creates a safety hazard -- $10 per violation.
WRONG LOT: Vehicle is violating lot restriction during restricted hours, M-F, 8a-5p
-- $25 per violation.
NO PARKING ZONE: Vehicle is parked outside of designated parking areas.
This includes parking on grass or seeded areas, zones designated by signage, driveways,
roadways, etc, or that may create a safety hazard -- $25 per violation and the potential
for towing, without warning, in the event of a safety hazard.
NO OVERNIGHT PARKING: Vehicle is parked in lot that restricts overnight parking
after midnight -- $25 per violation.
PARKED IN HANDICAPPED: Vehicle is not authorized to park in the space reserved for
handicapped space -- $50 per violation.
RESERVED PARKING: Vehicle is not authorized to park in the designated reserved
space -- $30 per violation.
TOW FEE: Any vehicle towed off campus premises is assessed a tow fee in addition
to the applicable violation, and any fees assessed by the private tow service -- $50
OTHER VIOLATION: as stated on the citation, does not meet with campus traffic and
parking regulations -- $25 per violation.
Payment of Fines.
Fines are payable as per the instructions on the ticket.
The prosecution and collection of fines shall be in accordance with applicable
The prosecution and collection of fines for visitors shall be voided, until
such time as five or more violations are accrued in one academic year. After
such time the University reserves the right to tow, without warning, any visitor vehicle
which is in violation of any campus traffic and parking regulations.
Fines may be deducted from the salary or wages of an offending officer or employee
of the university.
Student grades and transcripts may be withheld until all fines are paid.
Unpaid fines shall restrict access to the vehicle registrant’s account until
all fines are paid.
Appeals Board. The President of the State University of New York College
at Plattsburgh designates three persons and three alternates to serve on the Traffic
and Parking Appeals Board. The board shall hear complaints for violations
of the campus Traffic and Parking Regulations enforceable on campus. In
no way is this to be construed to take precedence over Section 565.2 of this part.
No board member will consider any appeal emanating from an immediate supervisor.
The alleged violator has the right to appeal a parking violation in writing, or
in person, provided the appeal is submitted in accordance with the campus traffic
and parking regulations.
The alleged violator has the right to re-appeal a parking violation, provided
there is new evidence to support the original appeal.
Filing an Appeal.
A hearing may be requested by submitting an appeal to the University Police within
five business days from receipt of a violation. Failure to submit an appeal
within five business days mandates that the violation is valid.
Any visitor who receives a “No Permit Visible” violation shall complete
the reverse of the ticket, and return it within five business days to University Police,
101 Broad Street, Plattsburgh, NY 12901.
Should an alleged violator fail to appear at the time fixed for the hearing, or
should no hearing be requested within the five business days of receipt of the violation,
the complaint is proved and shall warrant the violation as valid.
At the conclusion of the hearing, or not later than five business days thereafter,
the Appeals Board shall file a report, which will be communicated promptly to the
Appeal result codes:
“V” - VALID. The violation is determined to be a valid offense, and payment
is due to Student Accounts, Kehoe 101, within 5 business days.
“W” – WAIVE. The violation is hereby waived and no payment
is required. A prepaid violation will be credited, if applicable.
“WL” – WAIVE LIST. The Appeals Board reserves the right to
waive a first offense for “No Permit Visible” as a one-time warning, when
proof of compliance is reported on the appeal. Subsequent violations for “No
Permit Visible” within the current academic year will be considered valid offenses.