Statement by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher on Dual Enrollment Grants from the U.S. Department of Education

May 16, 2016

Six SUNY Community Colleges Selected – More than Any Other University System

"Today’s announcement of dual enrollment grants for select community colleges across the country, including six SUNY campuses throughout New York State, comes at a critical time for public education. As half of all community college students enroll in at least one remedial course, the importance of programs that prepare students for college-level coursework cannot be overstated.

"Congratulations to SUNY Community Colleges at Adirondack, Cayuga, Niagara, North Country, Rockland, and Sullivan on having earned a spot in this exciting national program, which will enable high school students not only to begin earning college credit but also expand access among our neediest students through Pell Grant eligibility.   

"President Obama continues to commit our country and our colleges to higher performance. I commend him for his leadership on college readiness and look forward to bringing the benefits of the Dual Enrollment Pell Experiment to SUNY students through our six participating campuses."

About the State University of New York
The State University of New York is the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States, with 64 college and university campuses located within 30 miles of every home, school and business in the state. In 2015–16, SUNY served nearly 1.3 million students, including nearly 600,000 in credit-bearing courses and programs and more than 700,000 through continuing education and community outreach programs. SUNY students and faculty across the state make significant contributions to research and discovery, resulting in nearly $1 billion of externally sponsored activity each year. There are 3 million SUNY alumni worldwide, and one in three New Yorkers with a college degree is a SUNY alum. To learn more about how SUNY creates opportunity, visit

Share this:


Holly Liapis
Email the Office of Communications