SUNY Research Council

SUNY Research Council

The Research Council is an advisory council to the SUNY Board of Trustees, the Research Foundation Board of Directors, the SUNY Provost and Campus Presidents. The SUNY Research Council lends deep and broad thinking and understanding to the question of SUNY's leadership as a 21st Century public comprehensive research-intensive university system. The Council considers and advises SUNY on strategies that encourage and nurture research as one of the primary missions of the University. The work of the Council informs strategic and operational planning at SUNY and the Research Foundation.

View Upcoming Meetings and Past Meetings

SUNY Research Council Members

Samuel Aronson, Ph.D.
Director, RIKEN BNL Research Center
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Daniel Atkins III, Ph.D.
Professor of Information
Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan

Susan K. Avery, Ph.D.
President Emerita
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

Marlene Belfort, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Member, National Academy of Sciences
State University of New York at Albany

Peter Cummings, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research, Vanderbilt University School of Engineering
Principal Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Katharine Frase, Ph.D.
Vice President, Education Business Development
IBM Watson

Margaret Honey, Ph.D.
President and CEO
New York Hall of Science

Timothy L. Killeen, Ph.D.
University of Illinois

Karen Lozano, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Texas - Pan American (UTPA)

Shirley Malcom, Ph.D.
Head, Education and Human Resources
American Association for the Advancement of Science 

Aristides A.N. Patrinos, Ph.D.
Synthetic Genomics, Inc.

Thomas Peterson, Ph.D.
Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor
University of California, Merced

Bahgat G. Sammakia, Ph.D. 
Vice President for Research
Distinguished Professor Mechanical Engineering
Director, Small Scale Systems Integration and Packaging Center
Binghamton University

Terrence J. Sejnowksi, Ph.D.
Professor and Laboratory Head,Computational Neurobiology Laboratory
Francis Crick Professorship
Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Neil G. Siegel, Ph.D.
Vice President and Chief Engineer for Information Systems
Northrop Grumman Corporation

James Spiller, Ph.D.
Assistant Provost Research & Scholarship/Dean, Graduate School
The College at Brockport 

Orlando L. Taylor, Ph.D.
Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
Fielding Graduate University
Association of American Colleges and Universities 

Caroline C. Whitacre, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
The Ohio State University 

Charles F. Zukoski, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
University at Buffalo

Why does SUNY Matter?