Chancellors Awards for Student Excellence 2014 awardees stand with their plaques.
Be Part of Something Bigger

Chancellor Zimpher Honors Student Success

On April 2 at the Empire State Plaza Convention Center, SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher honored more than 300 college students from campuses throughout the state, presenting 274 SUNY students with the 2014 Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence, and congratulating 68 SUNY & CUNY students who received awards from Phi Theta Kappa, a national honor society.

“Students honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, and those recognized by Phi Theta Kappa, truly embody the power of SUNY,” said Chancellor Zimpher. “As proven leaders and role models, scholar athletes, creative artists, and civic volunteers, each student is recognized not just for academic achievement, but also for the profound impact they have on college campuses and local communities across New York State. Congratulations to all of the students being recognized today.”

The Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence was created in 1997 to recognize students who have best demonstrated, and have been recognized for, the integration of academic excellence with accomplishments in the areas of leadership, athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, campus involvement, or career achievement.

Each year, campus presidents establish a selection committee, which reviews exemplary students. Nominees are then forwarded to the Chancellor’s Office and are subject to a second round of review. Finalists are then recommended to the Chancellor to become recipients of the award. Each recipient receives a framed certificate and medallion, which is traditionally worn at commencement.

A complete listing of 2014 recipients is available online.

In a video compilation, students were asked to share how SUNY helped them achieve their goals and ambitions.

The Phi Theta Kappa Award Ceremony recognizes outstanding community college students throughout the state. The ceremony is sponsored annually by New York Community College Trustees, the New York Community College Association of Presidents, and the Faculty Council of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society that recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. In addition to academic achievement, recipients of the award are also evaluated on their leadership and community service involvement, and are named members of the All New York Community College Academic Team. This year, 59 SUNY and 9 CUNY students are being honored.

Additionally, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors a Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team each year, and recognizes the New Century Scholars, which are the highest scoring students from each of the 50 states, Canada, and each of the six sovereign nations where PTK chapters exist. These students make up the All-USA Community College Academic Team. New York’s 2014 New Century Scholar is Laura DeNardo from Jefferson Community College.

A complete listing of the 2014 PTK recipients, including this year’s New Century Scholar and Coca-Cola Scholars, is available online.

Be Part of Something Bigger


Learn more about the Chancellor's Awards for Student Excellence

Explore your opportunities at SUNY